7th Sahyog Awards

06th May 1998

Seventh Annual Awards Function, on Wednesday, 6th May, '98, 7 p.m. Sharp at Rang Sharda Auditorium, Bandra Reclamation, Mumbai.

Presided by - Shri Sunil Dutt - Film Thespian

Chef Guest - Dr. (Mrs.) Snehalata Deshmukh - Vice Chancellor- University of Mumbai

Lighting of "Sadbhavna Lamp" by Shri Nana Cjhudasama - Former Sheriff of Mumbai

Guests of Honour - Ms. Asha Parekh, Mr. Ajit Wadekar, Mr. Vishwanath Sachdev Ms. Udaya Tara Nayar, Mr. Mukesh Sharma

Cultural Programme – “LITTLE WONPERS” by Kalyanji V. Shah

Sahyog Foundation, a socio-cultural and educational organization announced the names of the nineteen recipients of the Sahyog Foundation Awards. Included in the list were film actress, Rajya Sabha member and social activist, Shabana Azmi and noted journalist, K. R. Malkani. The awards will be presented to the recipients at a ceremony at Rangsharda Auditorium on 6 May, 1998.

The Foundation started 8 years ago by the Chairman, Mr. Ram Jawhrani, aims at overall public welfare and excellence in various fields. To achieve this, the Foundation has constituted nineteen committees under various heads like National Integration Committee, Film Awards Committee and Prevention of Drug Addiction. The Foundation has the active support of several eminent personalities like Nana Chudasama, Dev Anand, Dr. Snehlata Deshmukh, etc. Each year, the Sahyog Foundation honours persons who have made significant contributions in the nineteen specified areas.

This year, actress Shabana Azmi will be awarded a Gold Medal for her social service in the upliftment of slum dwellers. Kavi Pradeep's efforts at Promoting National Integration and Literature is also being recognized. Music Director Kalyanji V. Shah of the famed Kalyanji-Anandji duo, will also be felicitated for his contribution in the area of music research.

In the sphere of television, 'Aaj Tak' has been adjudged the Best News Programme on the national network and 'In Time TV News' has bagged the award for the Best News Programme amongst Metro Networks. The artists of the television serial 'Daraar' will also be felicitated for their performance.

Badminton champion, Rajiv Bagga has bagged the sports Award and Rs. 11,000/- prize money. Along with him is the eminent journalist and writer, Narayan Dutt, who has been named the recipient of the Hindi Literature Award. The award carries with it, prize money of Rs. 11,000/-. Also getting an award and prize money, is the Photo editor of Indian Express, Mukesh Parpiani, for his excellence in the area of Photojournalism.

The efforts of the Vivekanand Education Society, which runs more than 10 institutions in Mumbai under the chairmanship of Jamatmal Wadhwani, is being recognized. The Society has bagged the Education Award.

Dr.Ankush Jadhav will be honoured with a special award for the Prevention of Drug Addiction. Under Secretary to the Maharashtra Government, Ministry of Finance, Vasant Sakhe, has been named the recipient of the award in the category, ‘Welfare of the Handicapped'. He will also receive prize money of Rs. 11,000/-. This year's Family Welfare Award will be received by the renowned T.B. specialist, Dr. K. C. Mohanty.

Other recipients of the Sahyog Foundation Awards are Dr. Sudhir Vaishnav (Medical), Dr. Gopa Kothari (Women's Welfare), Mahavirprasad Saraf (Social Service), S. Seshadri (Promotion of Art and Culture), Prabhakar Panshikar ( Marathi Stage), Sadhana Sargam and Sudesh Bhonsale (Playback Singing) and Tejendra Sharma (Yuva Sahityakar).

The Sahyog Foundation Awards are truly democratic in that nominations are invited from the whole country through advertisements in newspapers. The Chairperson of each Committee then selects the winner of the award in that particular category from the nominations.

Film Actor and former MP Sunil Dutt has urged politicians to cut across party lines and strive for promoting National Integration which is the need of the hour.

Addressing a gathering at eh Seventh Annual Awards function of Sahyog Foundation here last night, Dutt exhorted the masses to rise above parochial approach and endeavour to build a strong and modern India.

The foundation Chairman, Ram Jawhrani, said his organization had launched ‘Hum Ek Hain’ movement with focus on National Integration which was revelant in today’s situation.

On the occasion, social activist and actress, Shabana Azmi, Music director Kalyanji of Kalyanji-Anandji duo, BJP Vice President K. R. Malkani and eminent poet Pradeep were fe

licitated with Gold Medals for their contribution in the fields of Public Service, Music, Journalism and Literature respectively.

Sahyog Awards were conferred on Rajiv Bagga (Sports), Vasant Sankhe (Welfare of Handicapped), Dr. K. C. Mohanti (Family Welfare), Dr. S. Vaishnav (Medical), Dr. Gopa Kothari (Women’s Welfare), Mahavirprasad Saraf (Social Service), S. Seshadri (Promotion of Art and Culture), Prabhakar Panshikar (Marathi Stage), Sadhna Sargam and Sudesh Bhosale (Playback Singing), Narayan Dutt (Hindi Journalism), Subhash Ghai (Films), Tabassum (Television), Mukesh Parpiani (Photo Journalism).

Awards in the categories of Sports, Photo Journalism, Hindi Journalism and Welfare of the Handicapped carried a purse of Rs. 11,000/- each along with trophies.