14th Sahyog Awards

11th Apr 2002

World Billiard Champion Geet Sethi has bagged Sahyog Foundation award in the sports category.

The award shall be presented on Aprill 11, 2002, at the 14th annual function of Sahyog Foundation, a Socio-Cultural organization at St. Andrews Auditorium, Bandra (W), 7-30 p.m. its Chairman, Ram Jawhrani announced in a statement here today.

On the occasion, former cricket captain G. S. Ramchand will be felicitated with Life Time Achievement award.

Sethi and Ramchand selected to receive the awards by a committee headed by eminent cricketer Ajit Wadekar.

Previous recipients of Sahyog Foundation award include Sachin Tendulkar, Kapil Dev, Rajiv Bagga, Dhanraj Pillai, Sunil Gavaskar and P. T. Usha.

Sethi was World Amateur Billiards Champion in 1985, 1987 and 2001. In 1992, 1993, 1995 and 1998 he achieved the distinction of being World Professional Billiards Champion. He was the recipient of Padmashri and Arjuna Award in 1986. His name figures in the Guinness Book of Records as the first amateur to have recorded a 147 maximum in competition.

Advocate General of Maharashtra Goolam Vahanvati and World Billiards Champion Geet Sethi have bagged awards instituted by Sahyog Foundation, a Socio-Cultural organization, in legal and sports fields respectively.

Film maker Manoj Kumar, renowned novelist Bhagwan Gidwani and Ghazal Samrat Pankaj Udhas shall be felicitated for their significant contribution in the respective fields, the Chairman of Sahyog Foundation, Ram Jawhrani, said in a statement here today.

Award winners in other categories include Dr. G. S. Sainani (Medical), Dilip Prabhavlakar (Marathi Theatre), Dr. T. Subbirami Reddy (Philantrophy), National Society for Equal Opportunities to the Handicapped – NASEOH (Promotion for Welfare of Handicapped), Red Cross Society (Social Service), Indu Shahani (Education), Harivansh (Journalism), Prachi Shah (Promotion of Kathak) and Thakorebhai Desai (Family Welfare)

Film Actress Sridevi and producer Boney Kapoor shall be honoured for their contribution to Bollywood.

Renowned Playback singers Udit Narayan, Sadhana Sargam, Alka Yagnik and Sudhesh Bhosle will also be felicitated.

Doordarshan’s Sahyadri Channel has bagged award as the “Best Regional TV Channel” while Ramesh & Suman Tulsiani, trustees of Suman Ramesh Charitable Trust, shall be honoured for contribution to public service.

The award shall be presented at the 14th annual function of Sahyog Foundation on April 11, 2002, at St. Andrews Auditorium, Bandra (W), 7:30 p.m. The awardees have been selected by committees headed by Ajit Wadekar, Dr. Snehlata Deshmukh, Nana Chudasma, Vishwanath Sachdev, Dr. B. K. Goyal and Mohan Wagh.

On the occasion, a musical cultural programme “Sangeet Ki Shaam, Kalyanji Ke Naam.” Dedicated to the Legendary Music Director shall be presented. Leading playback singers will perform.

Sahyog Foundation Award Winners

1 Goolam Vahanvati Advocate General Govt. of Maharashtra Legal
2 Geet Sethi Billiards Champion Sports
3 Dr. G. S. Sainani Cardiologist Medical
4 Dilip Prabhavalkar Artist Marathi Theatre
5 Sridevi Actress Life Time Achievement (Films)
6 Boney Kapoor Producer Films
7 Manoj Kumar Actor Life Time Achievement (Films)
8 Pankaj Udhas Ghazal Samrat Music
9 Red Cross Society NGO Social Service
10 NASEOH NGO Welfare of the Handicapped
11 Bhagwan Gidwani Novelist Literature
12 Dr. T. Subbi Rami Reddy Rajya Sabha MP Philanthropy
13 Indu Shahani Principal H R College Education
14 Thakorebhai Desai Vice President, Parents Association Thalassemic Unit Trust Family Welfare
15 Harivansh Editor, Prabhat Khabar Journalism
16 Prachi Shah Danseuse Promotion of Kathak
17 Ramesh Tulsiani & Suman Tulsiani Trustees, Suman-Ramesh Tulsiani Charitable Trust Public Service
18 Alka Yagnik Singer Kala Shiromani
19 Sudesh Bhosale Singer Kala Shiromani
20 Sadhana Sargam Singer Best Playback singer of the year
21 Udit Narayan Singer Best Playback singer of the year
22 Sahyadri Channel Doordarshan Best Regional TV Channel

Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Chhagan Bhujbal has exhorted social organizations to come forward and help the government in eradicating social evils from the Society.

He was addressing a gathering at the 14th annual awards presentation of Sahyog Foundation here last night.

Bhujbal said organizations like Sahyog Foundation should be in the forefront of social activities and act like a catalyst in helping the government to accomplish its task of removing ills from the society.

Former Sheriff of Mumbai, Nana Chudasma, former Union Law Minister Ram Jethmalani lauded the efforts of Sahyog Foundation and its team led by Chairman Ram Jawhrani in the social and cultural fields.

The Chairman of Sahyog Foundation Ram Jawhrani lamented over infighting among people and urged the masses to shed their differences and work together for nation’s progress.

Among those who received Sahyog Foundation awards were Geet Sethi (Sports), Goolam Vahanvati (Legal), Manoj Kumar and Sridevi (Life time achievement – films), Bhagwan Gidwani (Literature), Pankaj Udhas (Music), Dr. G. S. Sainani (Medical), Dilip Prabhavalkar (Marathi Theatre), National Society for Equal Opportunities to the Handicapped – NASEOH (Promotion for welfare of the handicapped), Red Cross Society (Social Service), Indu Shahani (Education), Harivansh (Journalism), Prachi Shah (Promotion of Kathak), Thakorebhai Desai (family welfare), Boney Kapoor (films), Doordarshan’s Sahyadri Channel and Ashish Kumar Singh, MD of Maharashtra Tourism Development Corporation (MTDC)

On the occasion playback singers Udit Narayan, Sadhana Sargam, Alka Yagnik and Sudesh Bhosle were felicitated.

Former Cricket Captain G. S. Ramchand received life time achievement award at the hands of Ajit Wadekar.

Ali Peter John received film journalism award, while Ramesh and Suman Tusiani were honoured for their charitable works.

The cultural programme, organized on the occasion, was dedicated to Late Kalyanji Virji Shah of Kalyanji Anandji duo. The function was compeered by Harish Bhimani.